meanwhile in medical anomalyville

Weird Wednesday. 

In my opinion, the majority of peculiarity from the past few months has been reserved for Wednesday’s. Most of the random ice/snow storms were on Wednesday, temperature extremes? yep, Wednesday. Doctor visits that give you no information or scare you into getting treatment? you guessed it- Wednesday! 

Now at this point you might be scratching your head, and i’m guessing you don’t have lice, so that means you’re a bit puzzled by this conclusion I’ve made about Wednesdays. So- I shall explain 🙂 This just so happens to be the day I go to the Chiropractor (7am standing appt) so I kept track of the ice because it actually did tend to fall on mid week, i noticed because I actually had somewhere to be before work. So therefore, I get up 30min earlier, it’s amazing the difference that 30min makes in temperature at 5:30am compared to 6! Also a big difference in road conditions in that amount of time. Now, the doctor visits also refers to the chiropractor in general. As i’ve mentioned, the struggle of my weight gain in majorly influenced by my visits there, and it’s also the only time I get weighed. In the two years i’ve been going there, he has convinced me to gain weight, be easier on myself, talked me through giving up riding for the time being and seen me get a new job, a new house, a new car etc. He’s like my Canadian uncle I visit with life updates and just so happens to realign my spine while i’m there! So this morning I mentioned to him my thirst issue and he told me to go to the doctor, like right then.Well being me, I was very inclined to just brush this advice off because that would mean missing work and I work unless I am legit bed ridden. So the fact that I even made an appointment this afternoon is saying something- even I’m a hair concerned about this. However, because this is my body and it makes everything super difficult, after the finger prick glucose check and urine analysis: I do NOT have the dia-bee-tus. YAY- right? yes….but that also means I now have to have a bunch of other tests run to figure out what da hell is up? I’m a pro at blood draws (use a butterfly needle in my left arm and block with your thumb cause my veins are widdle rolly poly’s) so that’s no big deal, pee i obviously have no problem providing since I have to go like every hour but what made me stare at them blankly was the request to come in for a fasting blood draw ( 8:30 is their earliest appt) after not having eaten or HAVING ANYTHING TO DRINK for 6 hours. Excuse me? I can’t even go an hour without gulping down at least a bottle of water, minus when i’m asleep and then I throw back like 3 bottles stat in the morning. Also- I wake up at 6 and my stomach is usually grumbly by 7 at the latest sooooo 8:30 is like torture for me. Then I have a phobia of restaurant food so what am I supposed to eat for breakfast? When can I go to work? Am I going to get fired for using so much sick time recently? Should I take the whole day off? Maybe I can go home after, make breakfast, then go to work…but that’s a lot of driving/gas/money/time. That was a snippet of what I thought about on the drive home. 

Still not quite sure what route i’m going to take- but I made the appointment for next wednesday in hopes that I can just miss lab meeting, grab a smoothie on the way to work and not starve or panic attack. Actually let’s be honest, at this point I’m just hoping for a mild anxiety attack. 

So how’s your week going? :p 

About Erin Goes Blah- I rant forever

Ever heard of Erin Go Brah? The horse obviously, not the saying! I'm him, in human form but slightly less successful and well known. Perhaps you've also heard of a man named William Shakespeare? In "A mid-summer nights dream" he says, "though she be but little, she is fierce" in reference to Hermia...I have a little bit of that in my mix too. I'm a 26-year-old big kid with occasional adult tendencies just trying to figure out my place in life. Chronically single and exhausted I am the keeper of two jobs and three pets. With approximately 2 hours of free time per day, ​I tend to use it relaxing- leading to much musings and wonderment. I plan on using this blog to reach out to others, and to my inner conscience to better understand my odd habits and talk myself out of them. I hope to bring attention to those in eating disorder recovery, by being open about my hardships and hurdles. I'm weird, silly and looking for someone to share the love with :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

