eggcellent weekend

Hi there! 

Hope you all had a fantastic Easter, whether you chose to celebrate with family, by going to church, by holing up inside alone, or all of the above. Personally I, for some reason, felt the need to take on a family holiday for the first time at my house. The days leading up to the big event were pretty normal; exhausting, busy and all jumbled into one big lump of days. Saturday I worked at the vet, as usual, which is fine because it wasn’t all that nice out. So I was pretty busy for most of the day- fortunately it was a pretty slow day so work didn’t totally wear me out until the afternoon walk shift. There weren’t a crazy amount of boarders for a holiday weekend, but apparently it was the cool thing to do to poop in your cage, or in one case break out of the cage and poop in the hallway. No judgement, but they should probably be more independent and make their own decisions! Oh well. So after that it was an average saturday evening until I got super nervous about sunday dinner, and decided I needed to go to the store to get everything then because if I didn’t the whole store was going to be bought out in a universal attempt to sabotage me. One grocery trip later, I got home at like 9:30 or something, and eventually stopped puttering around and wet to bed. I worked sunday morning, got home and went straight to work cleaning the house- mopping, vaccuuming, dusting, turning on the good smelling things, cleaning the litter boxes lalalalala boring. After that I began the food prep which wasn’t terrible- I just had to halve and deseed some acorn squash, break a head of cauliflower up, make a garlic glaze and slice strawberries. At that point it was like 11:30- so I took Rowena for a walk before the famlia came over around 1. 

Once they arrived we basically went straight to work in the yard, raking up gumballs, planting flowers that i got for my easter present (yay pretty!), and general organizing of stuff to make the yard look nicer. During the process I found an awesome toad- he was gray and scared the jeebus out of me at first because I thought he was dead and decayed but nope, just a crazy lookin gray toad.The end product was a pretty kickin garden bed if I do say so myself! Around 4 Grandpa and Betty came over for dinner, and once everything was all finished cooking we sat down to eat! Our menu was Honey Ham, acorn squash, mashed potatoes, roasted cauliflower, biscuits and a spinach salad with sliced strawberries. Jamie made red velvet cupcakes for dessert and that was that! We sat and talked for a few hours, and I boggled minds with my lack of cable. After everyone left, I took a shower and found all the animals sound asleep- they aren’t used to entertaining people for that long!

Today was pretty good- a Monday so a little discombobulated but nothing terrible. The smoke alarm was beeping when I got home so Maizy was flipping out, drooling all over the place but eventually I got it to stop and then ironically tried heating up a burnt biscuit and filled the house up with smoke (oops). Oh well- the beeping has ceased for now so I just have to remember to stop at Wal-greens tomorrow and pick up a battery! 

and now, I shall watch some house and go to bed. I’ll probably write again on Wednesday when I go in for bloodwork to vent about the process, but i’m also taking the day off so hopefully it evens out 🙂

 

<3Erin 

About Erin Goes Blah- I rant forever

Ever heard of Erin Go Brah? The horse obviously, not the saying! I'm him, in human form but slightly less successful and well known. Perhaps you've also heard of a man named William Shakespeare? In "A mid-summer nights dream" he says, "though she be but little, she is fierce" in reference to Hermia...I have a little bit of that in my mix too. I'm a 26-year-old big kid with occasional adult tendencies just trying to figure out my place in life. Chronically single and exhausted I am the keeper of two jobs and three pets. With approximately 2 hours of free time per day, ​I tend to use it relaxing- leading to much musings and wonderment. I plan on using this blog to reach out to others, and to my inner conscience to better understand my odd habits and talk myself out of them. I hope to bring attention to those in eating disorder recovery, by being open about my hardships and hurdles. I'm weird, silly and looking for someone to share the love with :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

