Mr. McGregors Garden

If you know who Mr. McGregor is then you and me are on the same wave length! For those that had a crummy childhood, he’s the man that chases peter rabbit and his cousin out of his cabbages all of the time. Anywho- I hope everyone had a great Easter, in any way you felt like celebrating. If you were totally psyched to stay home by yourself and eat frosting then I hope you did that.

Personally I had an awesome weekend! It wasn’t really all that eventful, but that’s probably why I liked it. Saturday I cleaned the house a bit, then made a second trip to Aldi to get the rest/more food and also some awesomely cheap garden tools. That afternoon I went over to use my parents kitchen again and actually cook the pierogi and finish my taxes (woohoo!). I was there for most of the afternoon, gab-festing and whatnot. I left around dinner time so I could go home and shower/eat before I was supposed to meet up and go have a drink with friends. Unfortunately, the place we were supposed to be going to is apparently closed. Oopsies! So we didn’t get to have wine, or enjoy jazz but we did find a new beer garden place in downtown Cary- which I thought was a pretty neat place. So that was that, once I got home from that I basically just went to bed. Sunday I was bummed to discover that even after only having ONE pint of beer I hurt a bit. Meh. Oh well I powered through that crap becuase I had prepping to do! I cleaned more, did my normal grocery shopping and got some extra goodies for parting gifts. I took Rowena for a long walk, then started cooking. I cut up the cabbage, eggplant and cauliflower- set the table for 6 with cute easter pastel placemats and put out the appetizers. It looked pretty legit if you ask me. Shannon and Joe got here around 1, my parents about 30 min after that. We didn’t do a whole lot, but played catchphrase, sat outside and talked…ate and general tomfoolery before dinner. The full menu was potato and cheese filled pierogi (with extra filling to go on top if desired), oven roasted cabbage and eggplant, cauliflower soup, kielbasa and homemade bread. Carrot cake for dessert. When everyone was headed out I gave little happy easter cups with jelly beans, chocolate coins and chocolate covered marshmallow eggs in them just to be a dorky hostess 🙂

all in all I had a good time, even though it was different and I didn’t get to see a lot of my extended family that I wish I could have spent some time with. I did enjoy making it through the day without getting compared to others and generally deflated though. After clean-up I was pretty tired so just watched a little netflix to relax and crashed!

Today I was anxious about the work load I knew was waiting for me, so I got to work a little early and hit the ground running. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I expected though, so now I plan to just sit and watch a few episodes of “the west wing” with the pets and maybe sleep a normal amount for once? Woooo boring life!

About Erin Goes Blah- I rant forever

Ever heard of Erin Go Brah? The horse obviously, not the saying! I'm him, in human form but slightly less successful and well known. Perhaps you've also heard of a man named William Shakespeare? In "A mid-summer nights dream" he says, "though she be but little, she is fierce" in reference to Hermia...I have a little bit of that in my mix too. I'm a 26-year-old big kid with occasional adult tendencies just trying to figure out my place in life. Chronically single and exhausted I am the keeper of two jobs and three pets. With approximately 2 hours of free time per day, ​I tend to use it relaxing- leading to much musings and wonderment. I plan on using this blog to reach out to others, and to my inner conscience to better understand my odd habits and talk myself out of them. I hope to bring attention to those in eating disorder recovery, by being open about my hardships and hurdles. I'm weird, silly and looking for someone to share the love with :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

