for whom the blog scrolls

Happy Day all-

Day 4 of #Blogging101 and I’m challenged with identifying my target audience. This is an interesting topic, only in the way that is really not interesting at all, because I don’t really have one. When I started writing my book I thought about who exactly I wanted to impact with the topic of body image and acceptance but on this blog I don’t only want to reach one specific group of people, I want to impact multiple types. What’s the point of having a blog that is accessible by people all over the world, at all times if I’m writing to only one small sliver of them? So in lieu of narrowing down my audience I welcome anyone and everyone that wants to read all or any of my posts. You don’t have to agree with anything I say, or even find it interesting- but just by reading another persons opinion or point of view you’re doing much better than the majority of the world that’s stuck in their own little bubbles.

As for WHY I’m writing- I have a huge bursting ball of thoughts in my head at all times and needed a valid medium to get them out with. Most of them are inane, trivial wonderings and have no real impact on life overall- but those are the best kind! For example, today a radio show I was listening to said something about negligee’s, and I started to ponder whether they’re named after the world negligent/negligence or the other way around. I’m assuming the term negligee wasn’t coined first, so it makes sense that whoever decided on that assignment was pretty literal or thought that the person wearing said outfit was a failure when it comes to dressing properly. Which then brings around the point that negligee’s are supposedly sexy, but since they were obviously named after a failure- most likely weren’t thought of as very acceptable back in the day.

So in summary- I’m basically just writing to get my thoughts out to whoever wants to hear them. Perhaps one day something important with great impact will work its way out, but until then enjoy my rants. As Dumbledore had his Pensieve, I have my blog…just without the cool storage compartment, wand and wispy stuff coming out of my temples.

About Erin Goes Blah- I rant forever

Ever heard of Erin Go Brah? The horse obviously, not the saying! I'm him, in human form but slightly less successful and well known. Perhaps you've also heard of a man named William Shakespeare? In "A mid-summer nights dream" he says, "though she be but little, she is fierce" in reference to Hermia...I have a little bit of that in my mix too. I'm a 26-year-old big kid with occasional adult tendencies just trying to figure out my place in life. Chronically single and exhausted I am the keeper of two jobs and three pets. With approximately 2 hours of free time per day, ​I tend to use it relaxing- leading to much musings and wonderment. I plan on using this blog to reach out to others, and to my inner conscience to better understand my odd habits and talk myself out of them. I hope to bring attention to those in eating disorder recovery, by being open about my hardships and hurdles. I'm weird, silly and looking for someone to share the love with :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

