time goes on

I’ve had a few mixed feelings about the New Year…for the most part I’m not all that concerned that 365 days have passed, and don’t really feel like it’s all that of a good reason to celebrate but I am happy to be given yet another reason to work hard at my goals. They aren’t resolutions, as I’ve been focused on most of them for quite some time- but at least for the next month or so I have a huge support system as other people jump on the band wagon with me. Then come February it’ll be like the end of the oregan trail..just me in my lonely conesta wagon (only instead of dying from scurvy people just give up-which is more cheery). ANYWAY

things I’m working on: my job/certifications, my health, my personal life and my people-pleasing

 

job/certifications: In 2016 I want to be a useful emergency employee, feel comfortable handling all of the weird situations that walk in the door and be able to cover for anyone without worrying about not being much help. I’m also going to officially be certified as a canine osteoarthritis case manager, and will be signing up to start classes to be a registered vet tech. Bam.

My health: As always I’m going to try and be less rigid in my eating habits, I will eventually be comfortable enough to eat a piece of pie over the holidays, or some birthday cake. That hasn’t quite happened in the past 5 years, but I’m not going to put a date to that happening anymore. I’m aiming instead to be comfortable with myself, whether that’s pie-eating or non. If people judge me for not participating in junk food world then so be it, but I want my decision to be based on something rather than fear. After my first half comes and goes in march I’m also hoping to be in better shape (probably not the day after that, but by summer maybe?). A sort of backward goal for me is to actual take rest days, rather than push and push I want to learn to listen to my body and allow it to recover when it needs to, but also know the difference between pushing just enough and pushing too far.

Personal life: This isn’t just about dating. Yes I most definite hope that this year is the year I find someone. Nearby is my ideal goofy, athletic, nerdy, bookish, mountain man that loves animals. He’ll pop up at some point…I also want to focus on my friendships (really my lack of frienships if we’re being honest)- the more I’m able to sacrifice for my friends, and bend my routine to fit them and doing things on a regular schedule for them, the more likely I am to MEET that dream guy…and when I inevitably find the wrong guy first, I’ll have a support system to fall back on and push forward to better things.

People Pleasing: I have a big problem with this. I want everyone to like me always. I accept work hours and favors, pay rates and terms just because I don’t want to cause any problems. I’m causing problems this year, sorry. I’m not looking to make things all amok, but I’m going to fight for myself if I deserve it and I’m going to fight for others as well.

SO. that’s where I’m at so far in 2016. we’ll regroup in 364 days and judge how this all goes down, okay?

 

 

 

About Erin Goes Blah- I rant forever

Ever heard of Erin Go Brah? The horse obviously, not the saying! I'm him, in human form but slightly less successful and well known. Perhaps you've also heard of a man named William Shakespeare? In "A mid-summer nights dream" he says, "though she be but little, she is fierce" in reference to Hermia...I have a little bit of that in my mix too. I'm a 26-year-old big kid with occasional adult tendencies just trying to figure out my place in life. Chronically single and exhausted I am the keeper of two jobs and three pets. With approximately 2 hours of free time per day, ​I tend to use it relaxing- leading to much musings and wonderment. I plan on using this blog to reach out to others, and to my inner conscience to better understand my odd habits and talk myself out of them. I hope to bring attention to those in eating disorder recovery, by being open about my hardships and hurdles. I'm weird, silly and looking for someone to share the love with :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

