No Pain, No Gains.

Children. Let me tell you about the goings on of my weekend

Saturday I had to force myself to skip boxing and be somewhat sedentary. I wanted to make sure I didn’t do anything to make me sore/stiff today..cause that’s the last thing I needed. I ended up going to work for a bit in the morning, grocery shopping, cleaning up around the house and then going over to my parents to meet Shannon so we could go to the packet pickup expo! It wasn’t as intimidating as I had envisioned, which is good…and I also got 3 free shirts (including today’s race shirt) and a water bottle. Score. Afterwards, I took Rowena for a walk with my parents and headed home to eat and try to sleep.

This morning I woke up around 5 (yes even with the time change), ate some breakfast and fed all the kiddos before packing up and going back to the Parent’s house to meet Shannon and her friends Shannon and Eddie. We left the house around 6:15 and made our way over to Thomas Brooks- this is when I started to get a little nervous. Waiting in line to pee and walking to the start line monopolised the time and before I knew it the national anthem was being sung and we were starting. My goal for the day originally was to finish under 4 hours but as we got going I changed it to 3 hours. Shannon and I started off running the first 3ish miles and then occasionally taking minute walk breaks when needed. I’m sure I slowed her down at times, but I don’t think I was all that terrible considering my lack of running skill. Anyways- I was alright until somewhere around mile 10, when my hip flexors really started to hurt and the fact that my right foot hits the ground harder than the left since my hip is lower began to get more obvious. On the plus side, I’m quite used to pain so running through it wasn’t impossible. The last hill and the run from the entrance of Thomas Brooks to the finish line were probably the hardest parts for me…I’ve never run .2 miles that seemed to last that long! In any rate, I finished JUST over 3 hours at 3:02 and I didn’t die. Right now I’ve taken most of the day to relax, with the exception of walking Rowena around the neighborhood twice and doing some cleaning inside;minor weeding outside. My hips are on FIRE but other than that I feel okay

I’ve already started to look ahead to the City of Oaks Marathon and will probably sign up for that soon before prices increase, I just can’t decide whether to do another Half or try a 10k since it has more hills.

so ladies and gents, that’s my weekend story. Tomorrow I’m going to hot yoga and hopefully a decent walk to stretch out my muscles. Morning shall tell all!

About Erin Goes Blah- I rant forever

Ever heard of Erin Go Brah? The horse obviously, not the saying! I'm him, in human form but slightly less successful and well known. Perhaps you've also heard of a man named William Shakespeare? In "A mid-summer nights dream" he says, "though she be but little, she is fierce" in reference to Hermia...I have a little bit of that in my mix too. I'm a 26-year-old big kid with occasional adult tendencies just trying to figure out my place in life. Chronically single and exhausted I am the keeper of two jobs and three pets. With approximately 2 hours of free time per day, ​I tend to use it relaxing- leading to much musings and wonderment. I plan on using this blog to reach out to others, and to my inner conscience to better understand my odd habits and talk myself out of them. I hope to bring attention to those in eating disorder recovery, by being open about my hardships and hurdles. I'm weird, silly and looking for someone to share the love with :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

