Deprive

Today I decided to take a prompt from the community blog- which is to write a post about the word Deprive. In general, this word is associated with negative feelings; someone deprives themselves of happiness, of nutrients, of fun. Admittedly I use this blog as a venting space most of the time, so I’m clearly able to discuss the negative aspects of this word. I hole up at home and deprive myself of a real social life, I continually monitor my food intake and deprive myself of indulgence, and haven’t gone out “Just for fun” in a very long time. However; there’s the other side of the fence to think about. I, and many other people, also deprive myself of misery, of failure, and of chaos. I stay in most of the time- but this usually makes me happier than going out. Sure, I would like to catch up with my friends more often, but doing so when I’m cranky and exhausted doesn’t sound very appealing to me. Especially since the most common approach to meeting up with people is over food or drinks, and I don’t feel comfortable in that sort of situation. As for doing things for fun, I go to the gym, I read, I work and I like those things. It’s become a sort of pet peeve of mine in the dating world when people ask me what I do for fun when we’ve been discussing what I do on a regular basis. Those are the things I do for fun…why else would I consistently participate in them? I understand that there are times when you have to work a job that you don’t enjoy, but in that case, I’d hope that that person is also looking elsewhere, or in school to do something that they’ll look forward to going to work for. If you go to the gym regularly but hate it, then do something else. If you have a house and hate taking care of it, move to a condo or apartment.

Circling back around to the original point of this rant- Deprivation. According to my observations, deprivation doesn’t usually occur as a primary issue. It’s a secondary problem that we submit ourselves to by over committing to things that we think we need more of. Overconsumption in one area can only lead to Deprivation in another. My advice to everyone (including myself..and especially so) is to focus on depriving ourselves of things we don’t want or need in our lives instead of the things that we’re conditioned to think are bad for us. Stop cutting carbs and eat pasta if you want it because it’s delicious. Stop drinking a green smoothie in the morning that makes you gag and eat some dang breakfast. Do what you want, enjoy your career, your home, your friends and yourself.

About Erin Goes Blah- I rant forever

Ever heard of Erin Go Brah? The horse obviously, not the saying! I'm him, in human form but slightly less successful and well known. Perhaps you've also heard of a man named William Shakespeare? In "A mid-summer nights dream" he says, "though she be but little, she is fierce" in reference to Hermia...I have a little bit of that in my mix too. I'm a 26-year-old big kid with occasional adult tendencies just trying to figure out my place in life. Chronically single and exhausted I am the keeper of two jobs and three pets. With approximately 2 hours of free time per day, ​I tend to use it relaxing- leading to much musings and wonderment. I plan on using this blog to reach out to others, and to my inner conscience to better understand my odd habits and talk myself out of them. I hope to bring attention to those in eating disorder recovery, by being open about my hardships and hurdles. I'm weird, silly and looking for someone to share the love with :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

